M-Teen Magazine's Buzz!

Clark Richard Reeves – Triple Threat!

In IT-Teens on February 24, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Clark Richard Reeves

Triple Threat!
Actor, Singer, Dancer


Age: 17
Grade: 12
School: Lewisberg High School

1. Who is your greatest Influence?

I’m a mama’s boy! I would have to say my mom is my greatest influence. I have no idea where I would be if I didn’t have her! She has always been my biggest fan! She works hard to open the doors for me, but as she says – it is up to me to take it the rest of the way! She has taught me to never give up and give things a chance. Even if they do not work out, at least I know I tried and won’t wonder…what if? I think the biggest thing she has taught me is to never judge anyone because until you walk in their shoes, you have no idea what and why people make the choices they do. She also taught me to always be the bigger and better person…never, ever intentionally hurt someone’s feelings no matter how ugly or mean they are to you! It has made a huge difference in my life and I am grateful for these lessons I have been taught. I know I am a better person for it!

2. What has been your greatest accomplishment thus far?

I would have to say the two shows I’m doing right now. I’m assisting the director in “Fiddler on the Roof” (a first for Desoto Family Theater) and I’m also doing “Les Miserables” at DFT at the same time! I also had a recent surgery that went terribly wrong in every way, which made me miss school for over 7 weeks-almost the whole fall semester! During my recuperation I was in the production of “Annie Get Your Gun” as ‘Charlie’. I kept my commitment to “AGYG” and stayed in the show. The production crew and cast understood what I was going through. Even when I wasn’t able to show up for rehearsals they were still very supportive. I continued on into the performances while I was still in an extreme amount of pain. I am proud of myself that I kept my commitment and did not let my cast down. I did my very best. I was not allowed to dance and they even added a cane to my character and altered the scenes so I could sit down instead of stand. VERY SUPPORTIVE!
Being gone for over 7 weeks from school made me so far behind but again, the teachers were so understanding and were very helpful in getting me caught up. I went back to school, against doctor’s orders, because I knew this was my senior year and I had to pass. I am proud to say that I finished the semester with a B and above average! Whew!
Both of these incidents made me realize that if I put my mind to it, I can do almost anything. I may not have been able to perform to the best of my ability, but I can give it my best shot! Luckily, this time my best was good enough…even though it was one of the worst/painful experiences of my life!
I am also very proud to have been asked to be on the “Star Council” for The Orpheum! It is a huge honor for me, actually for anyone!

3. What characteristic’s do you possess that you feel have helped your career the most?

I know how to keep my cool when I’m under a lot of stress and if there is something I want I work harder to achieve my goals. I have been told I am easily “direct-able”. I believe that is because I am always willing to keep an open mind and realize I have so much more to learn in my career. The people who are suggesting or offering their advice have more experience and I respect the position they are in and understand they are suggesting things to be in my best interest, as well as the productions.
I am a team player. Yes, I want my performance to be it’s best and I work really hard to make myself, the cast, crew and audience proud of me.
I am the first to do what is best for the production and there to help anyone who needs a helping hand in the cast…from the ensemble to the leads! I feel honored when someone asks for my opinion or help!
Plus, when I don’t get a role that I auditioned for… I don’t take it personally. I respect that the director has a vision of what he is looking for in each character and I just was not the right fit. There is always the next show!

4.  Where do you hope to be in 10 years?

I hope to be living in either New York or California. I hope to have been through one of the performing art colleges that I just recently auditioned for in Chicago last week. I want to learn all I can and be as verse as possible at my “God Given Talent”!! I hope to be working in my field of study, acting or musical theatre. I hope to be able to repay my parents for all the sacrifices they have made and allowed me to have the best in training (and all the cost that has been invested in the past 12 years) which enabled me to further my talent. In addition, all the effort needed just to get me to the auditions to the schools I want to attend to further my performance, skills and education!
They have always made sure I had the best childhood I could possibly have! Even though there have been some very lean times they still found a way to make things happen for me. I want them to know how grateful I am for all they have done for me and that I cherish them as much as they have shown they cherish me!
So many kids out there have not been as blessed as I have with parents who love, accept, support and stand behind me through thick and thin. Not to mention knowing how to be a friend and a parent at the same time! I am able to discuss anything with them and if I were to get into some kind of trouble (which so far I haven’t, and don’t plan on it) they would be the first I would call. Knowing they may be upset with me for my action but that their love will never faultier! I am truly blessed!

5.  Who inspires you?

I get inspired by a lot of things. How God sent his son to guide us as Christians and then to die for our sins. Jesus, as he endured so much pain and heartache and had the courage to keep following through as His Father asked, even dying for him and us.
In addition, my friends, who are all so different, and have shown me their trials and tribulations through the years and overcome it as best they can! My family, music, production crews, directors and my co-actors all inspire me. Most recently, ‘Lady Gaga’ has really inspired me to just be myself and to know that I’m not a freak, but, if I am- it is ok, as I am special just for who I am. She has gone through the exact same thing. When she speaks about her hard times as a teenager and even now…how she has been able to overcome and stand up for all the freaks and geeks out there and let us know to keep going on, as we are all as important as the person who is making fun of us. You can do anything you want… don’t let anything or anyone stand in your way! She may be weird to a lot of people and many do not understand her, but if they took a little time to listen to her and what she has to say and what she stands for… they may think differently!

6. Is your family supportive?

I think I have answered that previously, but they deserve me saying one more time just how very supportive they really are! My family is the most supportive family you could ever meet! I have no idea what I would do without my parents! My mom’s parents live in Colorado and they do their best to come to every production that I have a lead role in. It makes me feel so important that they love and care enough to be there in the audience to support me and cheer me on! As I have become older, I have seen how things such as my grandparent’s driving so far to support me means more than all the money or gifts in the world!

7.  How do you find time to balance school and performing along with a social life?

It’s very complicated…I am not going to lie. Keeping up with school and making sure I keep my grades a B or better is a challenge, especially with how much I miss! Between the productions, TV, films and unfortunately the migraines I have been plagued with…makes for a hard time in attending school as much as I should. My migraines have become worse in the past couple years. I have been seeing a top neurologist and been through every test/medicine possible to help get rid of them or at least make them less frequent or to lessen the pain…but to no avail! But, as I stated before I have been blessed with great, understanding and helpful teachers! My social life…well yes, I have missed a lot of dances, parties, vacations and spring breaks… but it’s the career/life I have chosen to live. It’s a good thing that I enjoy everything I do regarding performing or entertaining. Plus, I am lucky that the friends I socialize with are the ones I get to see at school and at rehearsals… so it ends up being a win/win situation in my eyes anyway. With each production, the cast and crew becomes very close, it’s like one big family, and we find ways to get together before or after rehearsals or the shows!

8. What do you do to unwind?

I listen to my music and hang out when I can with friends…oh- and SLEEP! I love to sleep! I enjoy watching certain favorite shows with my mom and a movie now or then! My favorite time to unwind would be what we call a “PJ” day! We do not have to go anywhere or do anything…we just do what we choose!
There is a negative to these days…they end TOO QUICK!!

9. What is your best piece of advice for teens looking to follow in your footsteps?

Never give up no matter what anyone tells you! If you believe in yourself and are meant to be a performer then give it your best and show the world what you’ve got! Not everyone is going to tell you what you want to hear…but one day, there may be that one casting director, or audition that will be an exact fit for you. You will look back and tell yourself just how glad you are that you never gave up on yourself, your goals and dreams!

10. What is the best piece of advice you have been given and how has it helped your performances?

“Never lose sight of who you are” and “Everyone gets nervous!” I know that if I were to become a “somebody” I would still want to be the Clark Richard that everyone knew and loved. When I get nervous I know its normal and I take that energy and make it explode on the stage!
It’s important to remember that it takes every person in the production and behind the scenes to make a good show… not just the leads – EVERY person has their place and is important so treat them with that respect and acknowledgement. Also, don’t allow anyone make you feel less of a person or talent than you know you are! My parents have always said to me, when I question things about myself, or how I am going to get it all done, “Clark Richard, are you average? NO… you will always be above average!” Now I finish it with; “I am above average and know I will get through this because God made me who I am, and he knows I am able, so I have to know it too!!”

  1. It is an honor to be this incrediably caring young man’s Parent!
    Wow were we blessed!
    What a great interview, Clark Richard!
    We are so very proud of you and all you have accomplished in your short time on earth!!
    Our love is never ending!
    Mom, Dad + Herbert Reeves

  2. I have had the great pleasure of knowing CR almost his entire life, and I am so proud of him. CR… You have followed your dream and are just getting started on your way to be a superstar! We love you and miss you and can’t wait to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

